IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW MEXICO

IN THE MATTER OF FILLING THE MASTER JURY WHEELS FOR THE TWO JURY DIVISIONS OF THIS DISTRICT

16-MC-00004-57

ORDER

THE COURT, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1861, *et. seq.*, and desiring to fill the Master Jury Wheels for each of the two jury divisions in this District, has determined that 45,000 names be placed in the Northern Division Jury Master Wheel and 35,000 names be placed in the Southern Division Master Jury Wheel.

Such names will be randomly drawn from New Mexico county voter registration lists in accordance with this Order.

The selection will be by random number, the random numbers to be generated with a seed (start) number selected by the Court. The seed number will be five (5) digits long and each digit shall be randomly drawn from a series of numbers from 0 thru 9. After each digit is selected, it will be recorded and the number placed back into the draw. The number is recorded in order of the draw from left to right.

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1878, et. seq., at the option of the Court, jurors are summoned and qualified in a single procedure, in lieu of two separate procedures otherwise provided by the Jury Selection and Service Act. The Court will indeed utilize a one-step procedure for the 2017-2018 Master Wheel.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that the seed number 3 4 9 4 6 randomly drawn by the Court publicly as presented above, be used to provide the total number of

names required for the two Master Jury Wheels.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Master Wheel vendor Michael Sutera, using the above seed number and the list of registered voters of the following counties, shall compile and maintain the Master Jury Wheel for the following divisions:

- The Northern Jury Division: Bernalillo, Cibola, Colfax, Curry, De Baca,
 Guadalupe, Harding, Los Alamos, McKinley, Mora, Quay, Rio Arriba, Roosevelt,
 San Juan, San Miguel, Sandoval, Santa Fe, Socorro, Taos, Torrance, Union, and
 Valencia Counties; and
- The Southern Jury Division: Catron, Chaves, Doña Ana, Eddy, Grant, Hidalgo,
 Lea, Lincoln, Luna, Otero, and Sierra Counties.

The number of names selected from the voter registration list of each county within a jury division will be such to ensure that each county in the jury division is substantially proportionately represented in the Master Jury Wheel that is being formed.

DONE at Albuquerque, New Mexico, this day of Nound, 2016.

CHIEF UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE M. CHRISTINA ARMIJO

Notices

1:16-mc-00004 Administrative Orders

U.S. District Court

District of New Mexico - Version 6.1

Notice of Electronic Filing

The following transaction was entered on 11/14/2016 at 3:43 PM MST and filed on 11/14/2016

Case Name:Administrative OrdersCase Number: $\underline{1:16\text{-mc-}00004}$

Filer:

Document Number: 57

Docket Text:

ORDER: Filling the Master Jury Wheels for the Two Jury Divisions of this District (kmk)

1:16-mc-00004 Notice has been electronically mailed to:

1:16-mc-00004 Notice has been delivered by fax to:

 $1{:}16\text{-mc}{-}00004$ Notice has been delivered by USPS to:

The following document(s) are associated with this transaction:

Document description: Main Document

 ${\bf Original\ filename:} n/a$

Electronic document Stamp:

[STAMP dcecfStamp_ID=1167529506 [Date=11/14/2016] [FileNumber=7999453-0] [ac4907f4c31ee7cff1cf94d03112f092b5a234ec7002524174935c5859bdda1415 7739b162513b29e97f0ca2b7afb789e6cd8797a995a231b084118aca325c7f]]

1 of 1 11/14/2016 3:43 PM